Dust (Dance) with Shostakovich’s String Quartet No.8 in C minor

Shostakovich, a Russian composer, visited Dresden, Germany in 1960 after WWII (see the Bombing of Dresden on Wiki) Shostakovich wrote the String Quartet No. 8 in C minor. In 2014, Lin Hwai-Min, the choreographer of Cloud Gate – Dance Theatre of Taiwan, produced the new dance, Dust, based on Shostakovich’s string quartet. Here is the preview with Chinese narratives. Lin Hwai-Min dedicated this dance to all the deceased souls in the recent years suffered from natural disasters and wars around the world. Lin was surprised to learn that Shostakovich wrote this piece originally as a requiem. May peace with all the traumatized souls.

Note: This website does not intend to provide any specific individually-tailored psychological advice/services to replace any medical and/or psychological treatment. If the readers are in need of medical or psychological attention, please seek appropriate services in your area.

Copyright © 2018 Chia-Chi (Alicia) Hu; 版權所有:胡嘉琪

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: